# 2024 YPSW AIHA Annual Business Meeting January 17, 2024

President Colin Young called the meeting to order at 4:30 PM PST. The agenda was distributed by email to all YPSW members.

# Minutes of 2023 Annual Business Meeting

The 2023 business meeting minutes were attached to the agenda. A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes of the 2023 annual meeting. Motion to approve by O'Donnell, seconded by Dawson. The motion passed unanimously.

### **Introduction of YPSW Executive Committee Members**

President Colin Young introduced the other members of the Executive Committee:

Ben Heckman – Past President

Dan Anna - President-Elect

Bob Lieckfield – Secretary-Treasurer

Dave Roskelley – Director (year 1 of 3)

Jen Sahmel - Director (year 2 of 3)

Rich Hirsch - Director (year 1 of 2)

Frank Hearl – Webmaster (Non-voting)

#### **2023 Executive Committee Activities**

Colin reported on the following activities:

<u>Executive Committee Meetings</u> – The Executive Committee held conference calls on throughout the year with the primary focus on:

- Defining YPSW operating and membership criteria policies
- 2024 meeting format and venue
- Membership Dues structure

<u>AIHA Reporting Requirements</u> – All of the requested information was submitted to AIHA including the list of officers for the 2023 reporting cycle.

<u>Website Updates</u> – Frank Hearl, webmaster, reported that the site is up-to-date as of January 17, 2024. The 2024 meeting materials will be posted as soon as they are available.

### YPSW Member Recognition -

John Henshaw - George and Florence Clayton Award

New Members – Colin announced that the following people had joined the YPSW Section during 2023:

Dina Siegel Julie Roth

Dana Hollins

Stephen Chuisano

# Secretary-Treasurer's Report

Secretary-Treasurer Bob Lieckfield reported the following balances:

Savings Account – \$14,292 Checking Account – \$19,807

Bob announced that we have 49 people registered for annual meeting with income of ~\$21,000. Membership income \$425.

In addition to a formal Clayton Award certificate, YPSW will make donations to AIHF in the amount of \$275 in honor of John Henshaw (Clayton Awardee \$175) and Ben Heckman (Past President \$100).

YPSW Sent memorials for:

None

YPSW sent condolences gifts to:

None

#### 2024 Annual Meeting Program

President-Elect and Program Chairman Dan Anna gave a brief overview of the program.

#### 2024 Nomination and Election of Officers and Directors

By YPSW Bylaws, Dan Anna will assume the position of President, Colin Young will become Past President. Jen Sahmel will move off of the Executive Committee as a Director and become President-Elect.

Colin Young presented the following slate of officers and directors as nominated by the Executive Committee:

President-Elect – Jen Sahmel

Secretary-Treasurer - Bob Lieckfield

Executive Committee Director (3-year term replacing Sahmel) – Jacob Persky

Note that Frank Hearl will continue as YPSW Webmaster as a non-voting member of the EC.

Colin asked for nominations from the floor. As there were none, motion made by O'Donnell, seconded by Hobson to approve the slate recommended by the Executive Committee and the motion was unanimously approved.

## **Proposed Site of 2025 Meeting**

There was no immediate decision on our 2025 venue, although we would remain in the San Diego area. There was some discussion on the pressure for raising registration fee, primarily because venues are getting more expensive. The general takeaway from those present seemed to be on acceptance of small increases (10-20%). But, for instance, doubling registration would most likely have a negative effect on attendance.

### **Comments/Questions**

There were no additional comments or questions from the members.

# **Motion to Adjourn**

A motion to adjourn was made Renshaw and seconded by Nocco and unanimously approved. The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 PM PST.

Recorded by Bob Lieckfield, YPSW Secretary