About Us
  Photo Albums

Clayton Award

  Contact Us  
About the Yuma Pacific-Southwest Section of the AIHA

Membership in the Yuma Pacific-Southwest (YPSW) section incude professionals in occupational and environmental health and safety practicing industrial hygiene in industry, government, labor, academic institutions, and independent organizations.

Bylaws of the Yuma Pacific Southwest Section of the AIHA

YPSW was formed by Frank Patty, Lester Cralley, George Clayton, Florence Clayton, Lewis Cralley, and Herbert Walworth in March 1975. YPSW requested recognition by AIHA as an AIHA Local Section covering the northern section of San Diego County and Yuma County, AZ. YPSW was recognized as the 36th AIHA Local Section on June 1, 1975.

The first YPSW President was Ruth Patty along with President-Elect Herbert Walworth, Secretary Florence Clayton, Treasurer Gertrude Cralley and Directors Frank Patty, George Clayton, and Lester Cralley.

    The membership roster as of April 1976 are listed below:

  • Leonard Breen, Occupational Health Section, State of California, San Diego, CA
  • Seymour Calvert, PhD, President, Air Pollution Technology, San Diego, CA
  • George and Florence Clayton, President Clayton Environmental Consultants, Fallbrook, CA
  • Lester and Gertrude Cralley, PhD, Fallbrook, CA
  • Lewis and Eva Cralley, PhD, Fallbrook, CA
  • David Elgas, President, American Technical Lab, San Diego, CA
  • Carl Jensen, Escondido, CA
  • Frank and Ruth Patty, Yuma, AZ
  • James and Patricia Sterner, MD, Laguna Hills, CA
  • Herbert Walworth, Lake San Marcos, CA

The first YPSW meeting was held at La Costa Hotel and Spa, Carlsbad, CA on March 4, 1976. This meeting was advertised in The Blade Tribune, Fallbrook Enterprise, The Evening Tribune (San Diego). The Banquet speaker was Evan Campbell, the incoming AIHA President.

Program from Inaugural Meeting - March 1976

The membership of the YPSW Section has included many of the Founders and Developers of the modern IH profession, OSHA Directors, AIHA Presidents, Directors of Health and Safety for Major Corporations, and many others who helped advance the science as we know it today and surely beyond as time goes by.

The YPSW is indeed a "special" section owing to our incredible past, current, and future members.



Rev. 01/29/2024